In 2008, a team of enthusiastic Kiwi educators, business representatives and students could see that science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) was about to be the forefront of education. This group scoped out what was happening in the world, and travelled to see the VEX programme in action and saw the potential of sharing these with New Zealand - inspiring young kiwis one robot at a time.

The NZ Robotics Charitable Trust was founded in 2009 with the support of businesses that could see the future growth of the tech industry and the imminent global need for more innovators, problem solvers, and creative thinkers.

NZ teams competed in their first season of VEX Robotics in the 2009-2010 season. In true kiwi fashion, the students showed innovation and a 'No.8 wire' approach to problem solving that resulted in a World Championship title, knocking reigning champions out of the top spot!

Since then, Kiwibots has grown, creating and supporting teams from intermediate through university to world calibre levels that put NZ on the map in the robotics and tech industry.


Kiwibots teams have won a World Championship title 9 times against 53 competing countries. They have also won awards such as the Inspire Award, Community Award, Online Challenge Competitions, and many more.

Our shared successes would not  be possible without the support of our generous sponsors over the years.

Thanks to them and the amazing students, parents and teachers, the future of robotics excellence and STEM advancement will be filled with passionate kiwis.

The Kiwibots Difference

We are unlike other software and coding based education as we encourage students to create physical results using robotics. The gamification of learning tasks creates a more engaging experience, while also fostering a collaborative and social environment.

Many of our programme alumni find themselves in careers with top technology firms across the world after gaining their initial interest and skills with Kiwibots and making friends for life. 


Meet The Team


Proudly sponsored by

SM11139-SmalesFarmlogo lrg RGB.png
Wright Family Foundation
SMClogo_COL copy.png

Board of Trustees

Mike Hearn

Executive Director AmCham

Prof Don Cleland

Professor Massey University

Sir Ken Stevens

Former Chairman Glidepath

Prof Johan Potgieter

Professor Massey University

Greg Smale

Director Smales Farm

Lee-Anne Taylor

Director of Deans
Rutherford College

Debra Lumsden

VP Fisher & Paykel Healthcare

Sharon Blincoe

Accounting Manager
Smales Farm